rrTV-PHOTO   New HD TV
HOME   rrTV-PHOTO   GALLERIES   MY GALLERY   HELP-FAQ
myHOME PM pmRR MEMBERS 701 ONLINE 46 EVENTS SEARCH REGISTER  START HERE
 
1 page3555 viewsPOST REPLY
XHELI.COM . Autography FlightPower . Advantage Hobby

.
.
RunRyder Member Service > What is this link? http://cafe4.daum.net /_c21_/bbs_read
 
 
Mark Ryder
Administrator
Location: Encino, CA

What is this link? http://cafe4.daum.net/_c21_/bbs_read

What is this link?

http://cafe4.daum.net/_c21_/bbs_read

It is very active with RunRyder.
12-07-2001 Over year old.
HOMEPAGE  
 
 
RapidRaptor
Heliman
Location: San Diego

Korean site

It's hosted in Korean but all I got was some kind of error message (sorry, I don't read Korean...).
12-08-2001 Over year old.
 
 
richardf
Veteran
Location: San Diego, CA Posts: Billions and Billions

It's a Korean version of 'Yahoo"

I ran it through a translator, but you can't get to the account from which the links originate.

[Daum] [카페]
메일|카페|쇼핑|검색|메시지| <http://image.hanmail.net/hanmail/top/imd_login.gif> 로그인| <http://image.hanmail.net/hanmail/top/icon_go1.gif> 바로가기
<http://image.hanmail.net/hanmail/general/trans.gif>
<http://image.hanmail.net/hanmail/general/trans.gif>
<http://image.hanmail.net/hanmail/general/trans.gif>
<http://image.hanmail.net/hanmail/general/trans.gif>
<http://image.hanmail.net/hanmail/general/trans.gif>
.. Daum > cafe
<http://image.hanmail.net/hanmail/general/trans.gif>
[등록한 카페 목록]
The cafe whole which it register it sees,
[카페만들기] [도움말]
...
...
...
12-08-2001 Over year old.
 
 
dyoo
Senior Heliman
Location: Northern NJ

I know them, but they don't know me.

That is one of RC club home pages in Korea.
This club is so active and has huge number of members.
I wonder how you got this web address...

I have been to their site several times to see how
they fly and which model they fly mostly because I'm a
Korean RC guy in the USA.
12-09-2001 Over year old.
 
 
Mark Ryder
Administrator
Location: Encino, CA

I wonder how you got there web address

They were burning my the access logs. Must have been linking to pictures. I blocked there IP address until I can see what they are doing.
12-09-2001 Over year old.
HOMEPAGE  
 
 
BladeRunner
Elite Veteran
Location: Ontario Canada. Member of "some sort" s

Link?

Your'e always lookin' out for us and our uninterupted enjoyment of this site, couldn't be a better manager at the controls---thanks Mark. --------BladeRunner.
12-09-2001 Over year old.
 
 
dyoo
Senior Heliman
Location: Northern NJ

Link??

I am not sure what happend to your access logs, but
don't feel so bad. I went to their site, but I could not
see any pictures from here. That is like Yahoo, so
you have to sign up and join their club. Then, you can
see pictures. If there is any problem with daum.net,
let me know. I'll send E-mail to them for you.
12-10-2001 Over year old.
 
 
Mark Ryder
Administrator
Location: Encino, CA

I'll send E-mail to them for you

Thanks
12-10-2001 Over year old.
HOMEPAGE  
 
 
rotormouth
Senior Heliman
Location: Irvine, California

blocking their IP address(es)

Which IPs are you blocking? I assume they (daum.net) have linked your images in their HTML code which, when displayed in a browser's window, pulls images from your server.

By blocking the IP addresses you gathered from your logs you are blocking the hapless users of their site from viewing your images. That's bad. First, it's bad because you cannot block everyone's IP address... if you do that, you might as well shut down your servers... pull the plug. Second, what if these users were also avid users/lurkers of your site? Not any more, if you are blocking them.

Those free home-site services have already experienced and fixed your same dilemma; although, they took it to the extreme.

To keep dumb developers from stealing your bandwidth, you need to verify the referrer portion of the request when a user requests an image linked from 'that' web site's page.

You know PHP? With Apache mod_rewrite and a little PHP code, you can verify the referrer and, if the referrer contains daum.net (or anything you want) the user is redirected to a default image or page. You can take it to the extreme too and block all images not directly linked on your site. Or, just block the major offenders.

Server resources required for this should be minimal.

If you got this problem fixed or I am totally in left field, please shoot me now.
12-10-2001 Over year old.
HOMEPAGE  
 
 
Mark Ryder
Administrator
Location: Encino, CA

Lead Programmer/Internet Technologist for BidBay.com

Thanks for the insight.
12-10-2001 Over year old.
HOMEPAGE  
 
 
1 page3555 viewsPOST REPLY
Revolution Models . CarbonXtreme . Midland Helicopters

.
.
RunRyder Member Service > What is this link? http://cafe4.daum.net /_c21_/bbs_read
  UPDATE SCREEN   PRINT TOPIC Advertisers 

Subscribe to This Topic

Saturday, August 30 - 3:44 am - Copyright 2000 - 2008 runryder.com | email | link to rr | runryder needs cookie